Reflections of 2011 in Boccia

As we turn over the calendar to 2012, I’m reflecting on what a HUGE year it’s been for me in Boccia (and life in general).

Last year at this time, I’ve:

  • Just made Team Ontario for the first time, and had never been to a Team *Anything* training camp
  • Never came 1st in any tournament
  • Not qualified to be even be eligible or classified for the London 2012 Paralympics
  • Been living in an all-too-small apartment, with little control over attendant services.

But, during 2011, I’ve:

  • Won the Provincial Championship
  • Won the National Championship (Individual & Team)
  • Made the Canadian National Boccia Team
  • Received extremely helpful funding from the provincial and national governments for being an “elite athlete”
  • Competed in my first “best-in-the-world” Boccia event (the World Cup) for Canada
  • Competed in my first multi-sport games (the 2011 Parapanamerican Games) for Canada
  • Put myself in a position to challenge for a chance to become a Paralympian
  • Learned a bunch, from many, at training camps and events
  • Started a new life (with my beautiful wife) in our own home, with our own attendants

What an incredible life-changing year!!!!!!!  BIG THANKS to everyone who have made all this possible, and have supported me along the way.

I always been an avid sports fan, but until recently, didn’t even envision a way to participate as a high performance athlete.  I can’t say 2011 has been a dream come true, because I didn’t even dream I’d be able to do this things.

I can’t wait to meet all the challenges that the next year will bring!  Here’s to a even better 2012!!!!!!

Double Gold at the 2011 Canadian Boccia Championships

About bocciashooter
Canadian BC1 Paralympic Boccia Athlete and 2011 National Champion. The only "foot player" in the country.

Leave a Reply

