Dias 4-6

Day 4 & 5

First of all sorry for the lack of updates over the past few days, we’ve been busy with opening ceremonies and 4 games in two days, and the internet has been very flaky around here.

Welcome to the Jeugo (soft ‘J’) Parapanamaricanos (try and say that 5 times fast).  The opening ceremonies were great and very inspiring.  Walking in a parade like that, is one more item to cross off my Bucket list.  The ceremonies were pretty common fair, as all open ceremonies are, but it was really cool to actually be there.  The entertainment ranged from traditional to kinda cool to outright bizarre.  We actually got back at a decent time, and were able to get a good night sleep as my first game was at 10 am the next morning. 

 

So the pool structure is nothing like I had anticipated due to two major reasons.  One being that two BC2 athletes were reclassified as BC1 athletes (therefore there are 14 BC1 athletes here).  The other reason is that they took the international ranking from before the world cup in Ireland.  This meant that I was again “randomly” placed in a pool as I was considered unranked.  Unfortunately, I ended up in a pool with a teammate Brock Richardson, which meant we had to play the first game against each other (which is a rule to avoid collusion down the road).  I struggled in my first game and lost 0-4.  I had a second game later in the day against a Mexican but even though I felt better, he played quite well and I ended up on the short end of 1-12.  I have two more pool games tomorrow, and planning to take it one game at a time.  The good news is that because there were more athletes, we will now have ¼ finals, which means 8 athletes will make it to the knockout stages.  I still have a chance but the goal for tomorrow is just to play like I know I can. 

Day 6

It was another tough day in the GDL.  I started off playing a girl from the USA and ended up losing 2-4.  I played better than the day before but still did not take advantage of enough opportunities to get the win.   My last game was later that afternoon,   against a Venezuelan.  This was my best game of the tournament by far but unfortunately my opponent was a one ball professional assassin (he had one perfect ball every end).  I ended up losing 1-4.  I officially finished 12th out of 14 BC1 athletes.  It was definitely not what the plan was but I have lots of lessons learned to move forward to 2012 Nationals. 

So the plan for the next couple of days is to cheer on the rest of my Boccia teammates as many are proceeding to the medal round.  Then go watch some other sports in the final days of the games. I’ll try and provide a few more updates before we leave.

Buenos Noches

 

Scoreboard before my first game

About bocciashooter
Canadian BC1 Paralympic Boccia Athlete and 2011 National Champion. The only "foot player" in the country.

One Response to Dias 4-6

  1. You’ve got the right attitude to make this a learning experience. Enjoy yourself and wish Brock and the others the best of luck !

    Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

